A Muslim businesswoman has launched Britain’s first range of Halal make-up which is free from pig fat and alcohol.
The range – which includes lip-sticks, eye-liners and blushers – have all been made in strict accordance with Islamic law.
Plant extracts and minerals are used in place of alcohol and animal products.
Samina Akhter launched the range because she felt uneasy praying while wearing non-Halal make-up.
She said: ”I don’t feel comfortable praying with make-up on not knowing what was in there.
”When I researched what was in make-up I found there was a lot of animal products included.
”I was shocked to find that some products contained alcohol and even pig placenta.
”Many Muslim women like me have been frustrated by wanting to look good and follow their faith.
”We’ve had women say, ‘thank you, now I can use products and pray without having to take the make-up off’.”
Samina, who runs the business from her home in Birmingham, started importing the make-up from Australia two months ago.
She already has more than 500 customers and interest from America and Indonesia.
The range, which ranges from lip-sticks for £8 to full make-up packs for £65, come with a certificate from the Halal Certification Authority in Australia.
Halal means anything which is lawful in Islamic law and prohibits the consumption of pork, blood and alcohol. Products which do not conform are known as ‘haram’.
Samina said: ”I’m not saying ‘such and such product is haram and we are halal
– you have to use us’.
”Women have their own choices but at least they’ve got the option to do that.”
But some Muslim leaders have expressed concern the word ‘halal’ is being used as a marketing gimmick.
Sheikh Haitham Al-Haddad, a leading Imam in the UK, said: ”Sometimes people misuse or abuse this word and put halal on any product.
”I’ve seen the word halal stamped on fish and this is ridiculous.
”If the product contains dead flesh or meat, any pig or haram [forbidden] animals like dogs, or any alcohol, then generally it is impermissible.
”If the product contains a very small amount of animal or alcohol, then some scholars say it is permissible.
”Also, if the disallowed ingredient changes into another substance, through the chemical process, then some scholars say this is allowed.”
Leave a Reply